Adai Dose

2331444038_e38f75d1eb.jpg

I remember being a really spoilt brat when I was younger back in Bangalore. There were some vegetables I would not even touch, like the Choyote Squash( Seeme badanekaayi), and there were some foods I hated, like the Adai Dose, poori, rotti, etc. My Mom had to make something else for me while the whole family ate whatever was made without complaints. I regret having done all that now, and feel terrible about those crazy things I did. I love my Mom for the patience she had to put up with me.

After getting married and coming to a totally new country, it so happens, life teaches people like us a lesson. We learn the value of people who love us and we learn to appreciate whatever we can cook, or whatever we can get to eat. So that was how I came to like, then fell in love with the humble ‘ Adai Dose’.

Really easy to make, and full of healthy proteins, how could I have not ever liked it before? So if you are like me, try this recipe for once and who knows, you may fall in love too?

Ingredients-

1. Channa Dal- 1/2 Cup

2. Urad Dal- 1/2 Cup

3. Toovar Dal- 1/2 Cup

4. Moong Dal- 1/2 Cup

5. Rice- A fistful

6. Fresh grated coconut- 2 Tbsp

7. Ginger- 1 inch piece

8. Curry Leaves- 5 to 6

9. Coriander leaves- A small bunch

10. Red Chilies- 7 to 8

11. Asafetida- a big pinch

12. Jeera- 1 Tsp

13. Peppercorns- 8 to 10

14. Salt- To taste

15. Oil- For making Dose’s

Method-

Soak all the dals and rice in warm water for about 2 hours. Grind them together with all the other ingredients( Except Oil) to make a fine batter, the consistency should be similar to normal dose batter. Make the Dose just like normal dose, as thin or as thick as needed.

Enjoy with Ghee and some Jaggery or Chutney.

2 thoughts on “Adai Dose

  1. I hadn’t had a chance to look into your blog for a long time. Today I browse through and “slurrppp.. Adai dose.”
    Just like you said, I hated adai dose and still resent it.
    But, now, suddenly just looking at this picture my mouth is watering. I guess its the way you have roasted it and presented. I sure will try this soon and not lose a chance to love it.

  2. Adai dose came out fantastically.
    It also stored well in the refrigerator in an air tight container.

    After day 2, I added a little onion and coriander leaves to this mix to play with my taste buds, and they couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

