Recipe for ‘Benne Masala Dose’- Hotel Style

I have been really fortunate to have a Sister in Law who is not only a great cook, but she is also gracious enough to share recipes that she has learnt from several Hotel chefs themselves. I have also put up her very successful recipe for the spongiest ‘Set Dosas‘ ever. This time while I was in Bangalore, we were celebrating the wedding Anniversary of my Sister in law. The caterer for the event was a retired chef of a very popular hotel in Bangalore. The Masala Dosas he made were simply out of the world. Here is the recipe he shared with my SIL. I tried it here in the US, it was very successful. We had a Dosa party at our home recently, and all my guests agreed that the Dosas were crunchy, finger licking good and  very hotel like. The only changes I made were-
1. I used less oil
2. I spread the batter with a ladle. I have seen Hotel chefs use a flat cup.

So if you are far away from Bangalore,  craving a good Masala Dosa and are up to it, go ahead and try this recipe. I guarantee you will revive the nostalgia!!

Ingredients-
1. Sona masoori Rice- 4 cups

2. Urad Dal- 1 Cup
3. Fenugreek seeds – 1 Tsp

Soak the top ingredients for 4-6 hours. Grind to a fine paste and let it ferment, overnight.

One hour before making dosas, mix the following to paste and add to the fermented dosa batter.
1. Chiroti Rava/Semolina- 1/4 cup
2. Rice flour- 1/2 cup
3. Maida- 1 TBsp
4. Baking Soda- 1 tsp
5. Salt- To taste
6. Sugar- 1 tsp
7. Oil/ Ghee for roasting the dosa
8. Butter- For serving

I also made the red chutney from the blog of a friend I follow- http://nammaruchi.blogspot.com/2009/12/masala-dosa.html
She has also taken beautiful pictures of the different stages of making the dosa and putting it together. Thanks so much for sharing, Leena!

For the Red chutney– I substituted Onion for garlic.
Roast – 10 to 15 red byadgi Chilies + 1 Tsp Jeera + a few peppercorns

Grind together with 1/2 a small onion, salt, Tamarind paste and Dalia/hurigadale

The recipe for the ‘Alugedde Palya’ or the Potato stuffing can be found both on Leena’s blog and here

2 thoughts on “Recipe for ‘Benne Masala Dose’- Hotel Style

  1. Dear Roopa,

    Your recipes are wonderful.There is no need to look in to any websites for real kannadiga veg recipes after seeing your recipes.
    Thank you so much for your efforts for making cooking so simple and good.

    1.I have one query in benne masala dosa recipe you have mentioned matta rice or red rice what is it? what type of red rice is it?

    2.if i use parboiled and sona massori rice will i get the same result as hotel masala dose or is it better to use matta/red rice?

    3.Also my request please share if you know how to make peni and chiroti recipe made in our kannada weddings,i have never come across our authentic peni and chiroti recipe in any websites or videos.

    thanks a lot
    Sandhya.

    1. Dear Sandhya, thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice comment.
      Rosematta rice is very easily available in Indian stores. It is reddish in color and parboiled. But, yes you can substitute any other parboiled rice for it. I have found practically no difference.
      Sorry I have not tried making chiroti or pheni. I have not found a good recipe yet for chiroti. If I get one, I will definitely post.

      Roopa

Leave a Reply

