Kodubale- The Real Crispy Version

   

I think the best thing that happened after taking Pastry classes at Culinary school, is that I started thinking about why we cook the way we do. I mean, I do try to understand why a particular ingredient goes in and what its purpose is in a dish.

I have tried making Kodubale in the past. Its my Aunt’s recipe and it is very successful too, but I have tried other versions also and some are much better, while some are bad.

So, I decided to apply some of my shiny new pastry skills and experiment with the kodubale and see how to make it crispy and make it stay that way after storing.

The trick is in controlling moisture in the dough before and after frying. Try keeping the water level to just as much is needed, so as to get the perfect crunch. Its not easy to predict because the quality of rice flour differs between companies.

  
The Ingredients I used are as follows-

  1. 1 1/2 Cups of Rice Flour. I got the packet from India, it does not say if the rice has been washed and dried before making a flour, but I don’t think it is necessary. I think its preferred NOT to use rice that has been treated that way.
  2. Fried gram also called as hurigadale in Kannada- 1 cup
  3. Red Chili Powder- 2 Tsp, use more or less based on your spice level preference.
  4. Carom seeds or Ajwain- 1 Tsp
  5. 2 sprigs of Curry leaves
  6. Dry shredded coconut- 1/2 cup
  7. Asafetida- 1/4 Tsp
  8. Roasted Rava- 2 TBSP( to make the kodubales Crisp)
  9. All Purpose Flour or Maida- 4 Tsp( Added to make the dough easier to shape)
  10. Salt To taste
  11. Oil for frying- I used Grape seed oil. Refined Sunflower oil is also a healthy option.
  12. 1 TBSP solidified ghee- If you are using my biscuit method of making the dough( Optional)

Make a fine powder of the ingredients from 2 to 7. Add the Rava, Maida, salt and gram powder to the rice flour. Mix well till all the ingredients are well integrated.

Its traditional to add shredded fresh coconut to make Kodubales. I wanted to keep the moisture levels to the minimum, so I decided to experiment with dry coconut this time. I will try fresh coconut in my next experiment and see how it turns out.

Divide the flour mixture into 2 parts. You can try either method like me or use one of the following methods, but do not mix all your flour at once, the dough should not get dry.

Keep the oil for heating on a low-medium heat.

Method 1

To the first part of the mixture, add 2 Tablespoons of hot oil and mix well into the flour with a spoon. Add just enough water to make a tight dough. Shape the kodubales and fry them on a low flame for 5-7 minutes per batch making sure not to overcrowd the pan. Fry till they are golden brown and the oil in the pan almost stops sizzling.

This method creates Kodubales that are perfect crunchy and crispy. The texture is slightly better than Method 2.

Method 2

Now what I did was with the second part, I added one TBSP of solidified ghee and gently mixed the ghee with the rice flour mixture to make a crumbly dough. Add just enough water to the mixture to make a smooth dough that resembles a tight chapathi dough. Now, what the ghee does, is that it create pockets of fat in your dough, which turn crisp when fried, because the water evaporates.

Shape the Kodubales and fry them at a very low flame for about 5-7 minutes per batch making sure not to overcrowd the pan. The kodubales can be removed when they turn golden brown.

This method creates Kodubales that are “melt in your mouth” crisp. I probably would not use this method for Kodubale, because I prefer having a crunch to them. I would use this method for making Benne Muruku and Mucchore, but thats only my preference.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

