Jackfruit Kadabu

IMG_8224

I said jokingly to my better half, ” Hari, I think this is the most expensive dish that has been cooked in my kitchen till now.” He reminded me of a Chocolate Icecream I made a few days ago. “It cost more”, he replied.

We get the best Jackfruit in Indian stores these days. This recipe is my Husband’s favorite. Its very simple, yet very fragrant and tastes so good. I am not sure if its authentically from Udupi or a Havyaka dish. Both styles of cooking are my absolute favorite, as they incorporate a lot of backyard grown herbs, coconut and coconut oil in their cooking.

Ingredients- 

  1. Rice- 1 Cup ( Soak in water for a couple of hours)
  2. Jackfruit pulp- 2 cups ( I think I used about 10 large fruit)
  3. Fresh coconut, grated fine- 1/2 cup
  4. Jaggery- 1/2 cup( or more if you like it sweeter)
  5. Cardamom powder- 1/2 Tsp( Optional)
  6. Ghee- for serving
  7. Honey- for serving

Method- 

Grind the rice to a thick paste. Add the Jackfruit pulp, coconut, jaggery and cardamom powder and make into a thick dough, the consistency of idli batter.

If a banana leaf is available, take a large piece and spread some of the mixture on the leaf and fold the leaf in half and steam the leaf for about 15 minutes, or till the kadabu is cooked. If a banana leaf if not available, use regular idli plates and steam like idlis, till completely cooked.

Serve hot with ghee and some honey.

IMG_0390

2 thoughts on “Jackfruit Kadabu

  1. Hi Roopa,

    I found this recipe very interesting.

    U would be aware of arishina yele kadabu..
    TO give your recipe a flavour,i thought why cant i wrap it in the arishina yele instead of baale yele.. it tastes awesome.

    1. I think it would taste excellent too. Please do try and let me know. Baale yele also gives a nice flavor. I’m sure arashina leaf has a beautiful fragrance. Thanks for writing Preeti:)

Leave a Reply

