Karkina Pudi( Curry Leaf Chutney Pudi)

IMG_0678

The weekend Hari and I visited my Veena Teacher in NJ. It was a pleasure to see her garden. Her Husband has a green thumb to envy. They grow a lot of Mysuru mallige and Kanankambara. They also have a couple of Curry leaf plants that are growing so happily in pots. Curry Leaf plants are not very easy to grow, I have tried and failed several times before giving up.

They gave me a nice packet of fresh curry leaves and she asked me for the recipe of Karkina Pudi, which I did not know. So, I called my Mom and she gave me my Paddu Ajji’s recipe. None of my Grandmother’s recipes were ever documented when she was alive. I really feel sad for that. My Mom remembers only some things, but she can go wrong with proportions. She gave me the recipe as she remembered it. I must say, I love the taste of the powder. This powder is also specially made for new mothers( bananthi) to aid digestion. I just love the taste of the Curry leaves and pepper with hot rice and lots of ghee.

Ingredients:

  1. Curry Leaves- 1 Cup, packed
  2. Toovar Dal- 1/8 Cup
  3. Coriander Seeds- 2 Tbsp
  4. Black peppercorns- 1 Tsp
  5. Cumin- 1 Tsp
  6. Dry Ginger powder- 1/2 Tsp
  7. Tamarind Powder- 1 Tsp
  8. Grated dry coconut- 1 Cup or from 1/2 the coconut
  9. A big pinch of Asafetida
  10. Salt to taste

Method:

Wash the curry leaves and pat them dry on some wet paper towels. Dry roast the leaves on a low flame in a kadhai till they completely lose all the moisture and become almost paper like. Remove from the flame and keep aside. Make sure that they have completely dried, but are not burnt.

Dry roast the Toovar dal till golden. Add the coriander, cumin, pepper and dry roast till fragrant. Add the grated coconut and roast till it starts turning golden. Add the ginger powder and saute. Take off the heat. Cool everything and powder with the Curry leaves, Tamarind powder, asafetida and salt.

Store in an airtight container.

 

Leave a Reply

