Roasted Green Tomato- Basil Soup


Many times I feel like I have hit a dead end with blogging. I don’t feel motivated enough to write a post. Once in a while the clouds clear and I feel I must force myself to at least document what new discoveries I discovered, just for myself.

Today is one such day. Hope there will be many more days like these.

We( my husband and I) decided to try a week of soup for dinner. Everyday a new Soup. Last week it was a week of Salads. I must say that was fun. Our New Years resolution has been to stay healthy. This was a start.

So I found some lovely unripe green tomatoes at my local Indian grocery store. I found a recipe for a Roasted Green Tomato soup in Food and Wine magazine.

Turns out that I like The tartness of the green tomatoes much better than the sweetness of the ripe tomatoes in soup. It’s a nice mild tartness that goes perfectly well with the heavenly Basil flavor.

Here is the original recipe from Food and Wine magazine.

I used the original ingredients and recipe. Okay, I skipped the garlic, substituted olive oil for butter and did not have thyme, but it still tasted absolutely delightful.

I served it with some homemade Foccacia bread, as I did not have sourdough.


INGREDIENTS

2 pounds ripe green tomatoes, sliced in half lengthwise
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon kosher salt

1 1/2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper

1 tablespoon unsalted butter(skipped)

1 yellow onion, about 1 cup, coarsely chopped

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

3 vegetable stock

3/4 cup fresh basil leaves, packed

1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves

To Make-

Preheat the oven to 400°. Toss together 2 pounds of green tomatoes, 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, salt and pepper. Spread the tomatoes in an even layer on a baking sheet and roast for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 400°. Toss together 2 pounds of green tomatoes, 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, salt and pepper. Spread the tomatoes in an even layer on a baking sheet and roast for 30 minutes.

In an eight-quart stockpot over medium heat, add the onions with the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Cook until the onions have slightly caramelized, about 8 minutes. Sprinkle in the crushed red pepper flakes and stir to combine, about 1 minute. Add the oven-roasted tomatoes and stock to the pot and bring to a boil. When soup comes to a full boil, toss in the fresh basil leaves and wilt over medium heat and simmer for about 8 minutes. Working in batches, puree the soup in a blender until smooth, ensuring that the basil leaves are entirely pureed into soup. Adjust seasonings with salt and pepper.

Serve hot with warm bread



Leave a Reply

